Senior Seminar & Portfolio

Hello drawingboard, it’s nice to see you again!

Well a new week a new idea for my personal logo! This time I went a whole new route. Forget the octopi and leave the ocean behind! This time I decided that what I really wanted was something that truly represented me. While octopodes do have some personality traits and I would like my logo to embody, I felt that it wasn’t a good representation of who I am. And after not coming up with any ideas after far too long of a time, it finally dawned on me that one thing that definitely represents me is my name!! I didn’t want it in to be just a typeface that could be downloaded by anyone, though, I wanted it to be hand rendered and created by me. I wanted it to be bold but not too bold and decorative while still modern. My sketches led me to this:

laurenlocks_sketch

and then, when cleaned up a bit and redrawn with sharpie, this:

laurenlocks_sharpie

 

As you can see, I didn’t finish the sketch because midway through I stepped back and took a look at it and really felt nothing at all. It wasn’t exactly what I had in mind but because of that it felt unusable.

After this I kind of gave up on sketching for a bit and decided to take my mind to Illustrator and see what I could come up with! I still had the idea of using my name on my mind but instead of using my full name, I decided to use just my initials instead.

 

l_shadow

 

There’s not much to say about these logos except that I don’t love them. I really enjoy the style and I think it would look very cool on a piece of paper but like times before, it says nothing about me. I want my logo to be able to give the viewer a little taste of my personality and these are bland and contain no personalities at all. So, while they’re interesting graphics, I can’t use them as my logo.

Standard

Leave a Reply

